2010 is going to be an interesting time for the auto industry. With Bajaj having stopped production of their iconic scooter. I have many memories of singing the song ‘Hamara Bajaj’ every time the jingle came on tv. And I have more intensely fond memories of riding pillion with my Dad when he used to drop me at Kindergarten. It was that very same scooter on which my dad used to take me out for my two wheeler driving lessons. How I wish those times were back.

Well Bajaj’s take is that they solely want to concentrate on making mo’bikes. They have the target to become the world’s largest bike manufacturer company. Now that is like a moral boost injection right into the soul of every patriotic Indian. Hell I feel good, that a homegrown company is making the mark on the world map. Have they defeated or have they defeated Hero Honda at home ground.

Within the last decade Bajaj have reinvented themselves. Bajaj’s products are reputed highly in auto markets as the most economical, the most fuel efficient, and the most pocket friendly. This Bajaj has managed to back up well with a very efficient service network. What Maruti is in 4 wheelers, Bajaj is to the two wheeler market. The company riding an all time high on Pulsar’s success. They will be venturing into the 4 wheeler market as well. So watch out all you Maruti’s, Hyundai’s and Nano’s out there.

The newly showcased concept bikes from KTM stable are Stunt 125 and Race 125 which have been built exhaustively in India by Bajaj. The styling though is very much European. They will be introduced in the Indian market somewhere late 2010. The pricing should be around 70 to 80k.

And here is what Bajaj started this all with, the good ol’ Chetak